I Will Be One

And I rushed into the pale dark room,

Candles were black and lit, melting

Each drop falling with an atomic boom,

Onto the cool gray stone, the wax continued it’s pelting

 

They told me, they had told me!

-“Another is gone!”

-“Who is it this time?”

I asked, panic setting in

-“A frail soul,one too frail to mention”

They replied, emotionless within

 

Sensation!

Libation!

In the name of a thousand gods!

 

Celebration!

Circulation!

Death is only a shade for the mortals!

 

Soul searching,

Demons lurking

 

I look at the body,all raiment in black,

The fabric of life and death in a chaotic crack

And I am surprised to see!

My face plastered where it’s ought to be!

 

 

And then I turned back

and felt my reflection lack,

In the mirror beside

the Reaper’s hide

 

-“Wow!”

I said aloud

-“I’m dead!”

I said aloud

 

And all around me,the new evolved kinds,

They stared at me with their vivid minds

And welcomed me into their blackened slimy visions,

To draw visions into life’s mine and to rejoice in it’s malformed incisions

 

Of babies bathing in soot,comfort in their ember,half-burnt and crisp

Rickets and scurvy,a fine combination, disintegrating into a smoky wisp

At such a tender age they seem so happy unaware,

Look at them smile and laugh, burning away without a care

 

Those fair little creatures know nothing of reality,

Blind still to it’s unjust ways and plain brutality

Eating each others souls and having a hearty time,

Eventually growing up to tune their joy into a painful rhyme

 

I black out this vision before me with the power of the sun,

Visions are for immortals and I will be one

Leave a Reply

