Sometimes

Sometimes I wake up,

Caught in the delusions of a distant dream

Sometimes I wake up ,

Trying to comprehend why I scream

Other times I am asleep,

Conversing with my dear friend’s Pain and Death

Other times I am asleep,

Choking on my past and gasping for a hopeful breath

Sometimes I wake up,

And look at my vacant face in the mirror

Sometimes I wake up,

And wear a mask to hide my grief and horror

Other times I am asleep,

Looking at this painful life in endless wonder

Other times I am asleep,

Thinking –  Just what was it that tore this life asunder?

Sometimes I wake up,

And I find myself searching for a cure

Sometimes I wake up,

Trying to heal the pain inside and avoid Death’s allure

Other times I am asleep,

Hoping that this would morph into an Endless Sleep

Other times I am asleep,

Both Void and Devoid in Death’s fabled sacred keep

Sometimes I wake up,

Thinking – I should accuse you for my Soul’s theft

Sometimes I wake up,

Crying – Just why was it that you left?

Leave a Reply

