Upon My Shoulders

I dream of ghosts

Long dead and gone

Souls released

Into death forlorn

I hear voices

Whispering of a mystery

Unseen and lifeless

From my life’s unsung history

Spirits of the past bright

Fly above me all the time

Making me write

Sad songs with a melancholic rhyme

They ask me to sway

This way and that

Forget your pain

And embrace Death

A life less lived

Trapped in a cage of guilt

A lifeless one lived

Upon a throne of shame built

Surrender to us

These distant voices say

Be with us in peace

And in silence hold sway

Leave a Reply

